Reviews



Night away - Rating 4/5

Lovely old character building...good service

Response

Thank you for your review, we\'re glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:John D | Tue 15th Oct 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Night away - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed for our wedding anniversary. Such a beautiful room and lovelyatmosphere in pub. We had an evening meal and breakfast, both were excellant. Staff were very attentive and friendly.

Response

Thank you very much for your glowing review, we\'re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:KAY O | Sun 29th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely part of the world to visit, friendly staff, great service, will be back again soon

Response

We look forward to seeing you again soon.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Mr Joel A B | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


- Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stayFriendly staffComfy bedgreat breakfastHandy for nearby wedding venue

Response

Thank you for your lovely review.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:MARY N | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Fantastic short break - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely short break staying at the White Hart.It is ideally placed for exploring East Sussex.Our room was lovely, the staff were always cheerful and helpful, breakfasts were amazing.We had two evening meals and they were both wonderful, great choice of ales, and the bar area is great to relax in after a long day.We would both highly recommend this pub, and are looking forward to a return visit.Thank you White Hart for making our mini holiday so enjoyable!

Response

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your mini break, we can\'t ask for more than a 5/5 review score and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Dave B | Tue 27th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


2 night stay - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and helpful staff. Twin room small as advertised but clean and comfortable. Liked the little nook to sit in upstairs.Nice atmosphere. Sone fruit and yoghurt would be good for breakfast but thank you for a lovely stay.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review.We do usually put out fruit and yoghurt at breakfast, so apologies that this wasn\'t the case during your stay.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Jan S | Thu 22nd Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Great hotel and bar, friendly People and amazing food. Highly recommend!Thank you!

Response

Thank you for your recommendation, it\'s good to hear you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Tyron R | Mon 19th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Top marks - Rating 5/5

Great place for a short break especially if visiting the many local sites of interest - Bodiam, Great Dixter, Sissinghurst, Rye etc. Excellent food (both breakfast and evening meal) with a good selection of vegetarian options. Sunny beer garden with plenty of places to sit. Bedroom and en suite had everything you’d need and were clean and tidy. My room was at the side/back of the building over the kitchen so although there was some noise from the kitchen it was quiet by 10ish (once service had finished). Comfy bed. Helpful and friendly proprietor and staff - evening staff are worthy of special mention for this;they were very good at their job, very helpful and approachable.

Response

\"Top marks\", we can\'t ask for more than that!Thank you for your glowing review.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Caroline H | Sat 17th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Great value- Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly staff, comfortable bedroom, excellent breakfast.En suite shower room all very clean and nicely presented.Although on a busy road it was quiet at night for sleeping. Obviously a popular village pub with attractive garden. Good value pub room accommodation

Response

Thank you for your lovely review.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Judith S | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

We loved this old building with all its quirks eg the low beams in the bar and the sloping floor in our bedroom. The room was spacious and clean and the helpful landlord provided us with a kettle and teabags when we couldn't get the hang of the fancy coffee machine! The food, breakfast and evening meals, was good and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful - and my husband liked the local ale. What more could you ask?

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review, it\'s great to hear you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:T | Sun 4th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Great location, great beer! - Rating 4/5

I enjoyed my stop over at the White Hart, en route to the ferry! Friendly staff, good food and great cask beer, pleasant beer garden and nice atmosphere! Room was on the small side, but the price reflected that I felt!All in all very satisfied!

Response

Thank you for your review, we\'re glad you chose us for your stop over and enjoyed your stay!Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Bernard C | Sun 4th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

A1 for everything from the excellent room size and decor to the dinner quality. We will certainly be back. Very close to Bodiam Castle a beautiful river and boat rides to Bodiam. The Kent &Sussex steam trains are very clise by.

Reviewer:Rosalind L | Thu 25th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Review - Rating 4/5

Lovely old pub with very good food and service

Reviewer:Paul G | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


AGreat Stay at a Village Pub - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay at The White Hart. The pub is really old with loads of character. It offered a good breakfast and had a comprehensive menu. The bed was very comfortable and the room was small but well decorated, fresh and clean. As with old building there are lots of nooks and crannies, creaky stairs and wobbly windows which add to its' charm. The location is excellent with lots of places to visit nearby. We would definitely recommend The White Hart and would be happy to stay again. Thank You.

Response

Many thanks for your lovely review and recommendation.We hope to welcome you back in the future.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Brenda s | Tue 9th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Nice stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for four nights. Room was comfortable, all we needed. Evening meals were a delight, enough variety to keep us both happy. Local beer worth trying. Staff friendly and helpful. Will visit again.

Response

Thank you, it\'s great to hear you enjoyed your stay.We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Peter V | Sat 6th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent value - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night on way to visit family. Gorgeous room with a lovely comfortable bed and superb breakfast. As others have said all staff are really welcoming and friendly which is important to me as a solo traveller. The White Hart is in a beautiful spot, I’d love to back to explore the area and will definitely stay at the White Hart again.

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments.We hope to welcome you back again soon.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:margaret h | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Comfy, clean room, superb food and welcoming hosts - Rating 5/5

I stayed here when working in the area, a friendly welcome on arrival, clean and comfy room with a lovely power shower. Excellent choice of food, with very generous portions. Breakfast was a real treat

Response

Thank you for your great review.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Annette B | Sat 29th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely Saturday Night Stay! - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable overnight stay - the property and garden look great from the outside and the bar/dining areas were well decorated and characterful too.Warm welcome from the staff, who showed us up to our very comfortable and spotless room.Loved the decor here too, and the little lounge and TV area on the landing was an unusually nice touch.The food in the evening and the cooked breakfast was delicious, although the cereal/fruit/juice offering was basic.Would recommend The White Hart to anyone looking for accommodation in the Newenden area.Particularly handy for those visiting the Bodiam Boating Station or the Kent &East Sussex Railway.

Response

Thank you for your review and glowing recommendation, it\'s lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards,Kate

Reviewer:Jackie f | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent stop over - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming friendly people. Clean and good food. Definitely recommend for value for money.

Response

Thank you for your glowing review and recommendation.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Roger F | Fri 21st Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Friendly and functional - Rating 4/5

Loved staying here. The room I was in was basic, but the price reflected that. What made this exceptional was how friendly everyone was. Plus great pub food. Will be back.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.We hope to welcome you back in the future.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Sally P | Sun 9th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Above and beyond- Rating 5/5

The reason for our stay was due to me needing some surgery at an ungodly hour in a nearby hospital. On hearing this the staff made everything so convenient for us, arranging for our needs in an amazing way. Breakfast at my wife’s convenience, allowing my wife and family to use all the facilities even after our official check out time. In addition the meal we had the previous night was loved by all of us, with two young children, that’s not normally the case. Can’t thank all at the White Hart enough, and we will definitely be back.

Response

Thank you for your thank you.We were more than happy to help to make thinks a little easier for you and your family and hope everything went well for you.Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Mark D | Wed 5th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Bank holiday break - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable stay. Tastefully decorated room and tasty food.

Response

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Julia B | Wed 29th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Excellent stay- Rating 5/5

Really lovely room with very comfortable bed, cosy pillows and blankets. The USB port on the plug socket in the room was helpful as I’d left my phone changer adapter behind. Quiet stay and great breakfast (which was arranged at an earlier time for me as I needed to leave for work early). Thank You. Would defiantly stay again.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review, it\'s great to hear you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Nicola J | Sun 12th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We loved staying here the food was fantastic and the staff were brilliant lovely little quirky pub

Response

Thank you, lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Laura E | Wed 8th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Another gtreat stay - Rating 5/5

I'll start by saying I am biased.We love the white hart and come down for a couple of days as often as we can.What is not to like?The food is great, the beer is great, the locals are welcoming, the staff is fantastic. It is in our opinion everything a good British pub should be.As I have said before it is a working pub and so you should expect some noise. Its floors are not level, there is no lift but if those sort of things are important to you then there are many hotel chains only too happy to take your money.But if you are looking for a warm welcome, home cooked locally sourced food including a range (6, when we visited) vegetarian options, great local real ales and a variety of beers, comfortable bedrooms if you chose to stay over and above all, a warm welcome then visit the White Hart.You'll be glad you did.We will be back soon.

Response

Thank you!Fabulous recommendation!Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Chris P | Tue 7th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very cosy pub with fun staff, a great breakfast and a great nights sleep

Response

Thank you for your lovely review, it\'s great to hear you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards, Kate.

Reviewer:Michael N | Tue 7th May 2019 | 6 months ago


John and Lou Bellenie- Rating 5/5

We had a lovely relaxing stay we was made very welcome and the staff were very friendly our roommet all our requirements and the food was delicious . We will definitely be staying again .

Response

Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:John B | Tue 7th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Beautiful venue, very cosy with super friendly staff. Possibly the best scramble eggs ever. We stay on Easter weekend and they let us hide our kids easter eggs in the playground of the hotel garden. Village is beautiful as well. Excellent stay overall, highly recommended.

Response

Thank you for your fantastic review!It\'s lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards, Kate.

Reviewer:Jeanne J | Thu 25th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Easter Stop off - Rating 5/5

Lovely but a brief a stay, very well looked after as a solo traveller, great food and service would love to visit again x

Response

Thank you for your wonderful review!Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Wendy A | Tue 23rd Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night with two children aged 5 and 8. The room was perfect and beautifuly decorated. The food in the pub was great and good value and the breakfast in the morning was great quality. The girls also loved playing in the play area in the garden. We will definitely come back and stay again.

Response

So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to The White Hart in the future.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Louise B | Sun 21st Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


White Hart- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay in a pleasant setting. Our Children were busily occupied playing in the large maintained gardenHad a lovely meal, lovely room and a nice breakfast.Would gladly recommend.

Response

Thank you, lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards, Kate.

Reviewer:Christian M | Sat 20th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Family friendly pub for weekend break - Rating 4/5

This pub has friendly welcoming staff, good food, comfy beds in a room big enough for a family of four and a nice beer garden with a children’s play area. We had a lovely stay here whilst visiting family and castles in the local area. The shower is a bit small and not built for the taller person but that was really the only downside. Would happily stay again.

Response

Thank you for your glowing review, it\'s great to hear you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Diane M | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Proper pub - Rating 5/5

Cosy, comfortable, and reasonably priced. An ideal base from which to explore a beautiful part of Kent. Food and beer was excellent

Response

Thank you for your glowing review!It\'s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.Kind regards, Kate

Reviewer:Thomas A | Tue 2nd Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


lovely pub1 - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay, the room was so lovely and warm, It was -4 in the night but the room was cosy all night and very comfortable.The pub had a magnificent fireplace which was roaring when we arrived at 6pm and when we went for breakfast at 9am. Food was very good too!

Response

Dear Mr & Mrs Price,Thank you so much for your glowing review.It\'s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay.Kind regards,Kate

Reviewer:Dave and Jacquie P | Tue 22nd Jan 2019 | 9 months ago


Great Stay, Great Value - Rating 5/5

Recently stayed here on a Friday night and couldn’t have been happier. My room was well appointed and very comfortable. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. I will definitely be booking up again. Great value for money. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Phil M | Sun 25th Nov 2018 | 11 months ago